EDITOR’S BOOK OF THE MONTH: JUNE 2016

Big_Little_Lies_Cover

Big Little Lies

Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies tells the story of a single Mom Jane and her son Ziggy right after they relocate to a small beach town Pirriwee in Australia.  Soon after the move Jane quickly befriends two women during a kindergarden orientation day for their children.  As the book progresses, so does their friendship which leads to secrets, betrayal and internal struggles bubbling to the surface.

To be completely honest, I didn’t get through this book very quickly.  Not because I didn’t like the story  line or the characters but because I started it on my honeymoon and as soon as we got back I was jam packed with 101 things that took priority.  I know what you are thinking, “What takes priority over YOU time?”  Well, we moved houses and I got a new job – so “me” time had to wait.  When I finally did pick up the book again, I can say with 100% confidence that I did not put it down.  I think this is due to the fact that it keeps you guessing through out the entire 460 pages.  The thing that really kept me going was the fact that you are following a police investigation but you are not sure exactly why or what is going to be the reason for the police to be involved.  Only in the last couple of pages do you actually learn what the crime was and who committed it.

Overall, I would give this book 5 stars out of 5 and recommend anyone to read it (especially before the movie comes out in 2017)

Have you read any of Liane Moriarty’s books and if so which ones?

Leave a comment